Skip to content

Meeting Times Changed, Officers Elected

Weakley Co. Rules Committee


Members of the Weakley County Commission Rules Committee voted to change the time for regular meetings of the commission from 5:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. and elected officers when they met on Thursday, September 1.

The Rules Committee unanimously approved a resolution to adopt rules regulating the procedures of the Board of County Commissioners of Weakley County, Tennessee. 

The amended rule, regulating meeting times, reads as follows: 

*The Board shall meet at the County Courthouse in Dresden, Tennessee at 5:00 p.m. on the third Monday in March, May, September and November with additional regular meetings in January, June, and July at a date and time to be set by the board of county commissioners at a previous meeting or by the Chairperson. 

*In the event any prescribed meeting should fall on a legal holiday or if any emergency shall arise, the Board of County Commissioners at a previous meeting or the Chairperson shall set the time and date of those meetings. 

*Notification to the members of the regular meeting shall be made by the Chairperson and/or the clerk using first class mail. 

*Special meetings of the Board shall be as prescribed by law. 

*The members of the county legislative body shall be compensated at a rate of $300 for each regular and special session attended. Compensation for attending duly authorized committee meetings shall be held at one-half of the regular meeting rate as provided by Section 5-15-107, Tennessee Code Annotated. 

* * *

Committee appointments included County Mayor Jake Bynum as Commission Chairman and Commissioner Dennis Doster as Commission Chairman Pro-Tempore. 

Officers elected to serve on the Rules Committee included: Roger Donaldson as Chairman, Commissioner David Bell as Vice-Chairman, and Lauren Rush as Recording Secretary.

The Commission approved a resolution to appoint members to the Rules Committee of the Weakley County Board of Commissioners are as follows: District 1 – Dennis Doster, District 2 – Marcus Hopper, District 3 – Greg Usery, District 4 – Gary Eddings, District 5 – Larry Kelly, District 6 – David Bell, District 7 – Billy Hazlewood, District 8 – Roger Donaldson, and District 9 – James Westbrook.

The elected commissioners with the highest vote total in each respective district are appointed as a member of the Rules Committee. 

Leave a Comment