Skip to content

New Members Appointed to Election Commission

DRESDEN (July 1) – At the June 23, 2021, meeting of the Tennessee State Election Commission two new members were appointed to serve on the Weakley County Election Commission: Ricka McDonald and Kelley Swearingen. McDonald and Swearingen will complete the unexpired terms of Britan Coleman and Wendell Verdell, who have served since June 2015.

McDonald lives in Martin and was the Deputy Administrator of Election since 2012. Prior to that, she served as an election official.

Swearingen lives in Dresden and has served as member of the Absentee Ballot Counting Board for the past 13 years.

Election Commission Chairman John Robert Freeman said he welcomes the new members and looks forward to the commission’s continued work of supporting the most secure and efficient elections in the State of Tennessee. Freeman also thanked former Commissioners Coleman and Verdell for their service to the citizens of Weakley County, a press release noted.

The next meeting of the Weakley County Election Commission is at 6 p.m. Monday, August 9, 2021.

Leave a Comment