Skip to content

Local Students Earn UT-Martin Communications Awards

MARTIN — Seven Weakley County students received awards from the University of Tennessee at Martin Department of Communications in recognition of departmental achievements for the 2019-20 academic year. All recipients are Martin residents unless otherwise noted.
Skylar McCroskey received the Duke Drumm-WCMT Scholarship, which is awarded to an outstanding broadcasting student.
Dylan Ingram received the Terry and Mitzi Hailey Award, given to an outstanding communications major involved in broadcasting.
Anna Barnes received the Media Design Award, given to an outstanding media design major. This award is funded by Drs. Teresa Collard, Tracy Rutledge and Robert Nanney, all UT Martin communications faculty members.
Trevor Holcomb received the Media Design IDEA Award or the Information Design Excellence Award.
Bentley Gordon, of Greenfield, received the Swafford Public Relations Scholarship, which is awarded to a junior or senior public relations student.
Jonathan Kirkland received the Kent Landers PR Internship Scholarship, which is awarded to an outstanding public relations student who intends to complete a national or international public relations internship.
Marissa Laws, of Gleason, received the Incoming Freshman Scholarship, which is awarded to an incoming UT Martin freshman communications major.
For more information about the department, contact Dr. Robert Nanney, chair, at For more information about UT Martin, visit

Leave a Comment