Skip to content

Gleason Athletes Honored with Virtual Banquets

GLEASON (May 12-15) — Under normal circumstances, Gleason High School athletes would have been honored with the annual banquet Tuesday to celebrate their hard work and dedication. Instead, coaches held virtual banquets streamed via Facebook throughout the week.
First, cheer sponsor Lori Wilson recognized the accomplishments of the cheerleaders. She said, “Even though we’re not meeting in person to celebrate you, your dedication to your sport is no less important… We wanted to recognize you for all that you did to make the 2019-20 season a memorable one.”
She presented the following awards: Most Improved — Keely Spain; The Builder Award — Paige Smith; Coach’s Award — Gracie Long; Leadership Award — Belle Fowler and Haley Harrison; Bulldog Award — Madison Fuzzell.
Next, golf coach Jacob Canaday recognized his players. He thanked them as well as everyone who supported the program and complimented the players on their performance.
He presented the following awards: Best Female Golfer — Zana Tipton; Best Male Golfer — Aayden Black.
Football coach Noah Lampkins honored his team and thanked them for all of their hard work. He said, “We did it the right way. We worked hard and we had fun.”
He presented the following awards: Most Improved — Mason Fuzzell; Defensive Player of the Year — Cody O’Callaghan; Bulldog Award — Elijah Young; Coach’s Choice Award — Dawson Arnold; Offensive Player of the Year — Isaac Denton.
Girls’ basketball coaches Sean Stephenson and Luke Hughes complimented their team for their perseverance during a difficult season marred by injuries.
They presented the following awards: Most Improved — Sophie Wilson; D.A.L. Award for Dedication, Ability and Leadership — Kenady Atkins; Most Outstanding Offensive Player — Lillie Freeman; Toughness Award — Carrington Lifsey; P.R.I.D.E. Award — Alexis Anderson; Coach’s Award — Martha Nichols; Bulldog Award — Keicha Parkins; Hustle Award — Chasney Brawner; Most Outstanding Defensive Player — Veronica Rosa; Most Charges Taken (16) — Veronica Rosa; Best Field Goal Percentage (50 percent) — Carrington Lifsey; Best Free Throw Percentage (75 percent) — Carrington Lifsey; Best Three-Point Percentage (49 percent) — Carrington Lifsey; Most Assists (54) — Carrington Lifsey; Most Rebounds (200) — Lillie Freeman.
Boys’ basketball coach Mike Riggs, in his first year in the role, offered his appreciation for each player’s hard work, dedication, character and determination.
He presented the following awards: Coach’s Award — Brady Witherspoon; Best Defensive Player — Dawson Arnold; Most Valuable Player — Elijah Young; Most Steals — Garrett Pinkston; Bulldog Award — Olen Reed; Most Improved — Kolton Crochet.
Softball coach Albert Collins lamented that his team barely had the chance to see the field, but complimented the players on their off-the-field accomplishments and their hard work and dedication in preparing for the season.
He presented the following awards: Leadership Award — Cory Burke; Dedication Award — Christina Sandoval and Krista O’Callaghan.

Leave a Comment