Skip to content

Candidates File to Appear on August 6 Ballot

By David Fisher
DRESDEN (March 30) — Andrew “Andy” Holt (R-Dresden), who represents the 76th District in the Tennessee State House of Representatives, announced he is not seeking another term of office in the state legislature after 10 years of service.
Shortly after Holt’s announcement, several candidates picked up petitions for the post.
After serving five two-year terms in the State House, Holt, who represents the voters of Weakley, Carroll and a portion of Obion County, announced he decided not to run for re-election.
Holt explained to his constituents he never intended to be a career politician and after 10 years in office, he decided to step aside.
The 38-year-old state representative said he will leave office after the November General Election.
Although Holt picked up a petition on February 3, he has not filed it to qualify to be on the August 6 Primary ballot. Holt’s departure leaves the race open for those seeking his vacated post. As of press time, 10 candidates have shown interest to enter the race for the 76th District in the Tennessee State House of Representatives. It includes seven Republicans, one Democrat and two Independents.
Republican candidates are – Tandy Darby, Dennis J. Doster, Larry L. Gallimore, David Hawks, and Leon Ronald Huestis – all of Weakley County; Keith Priestley of McKenzie; and John McMahan from Obion County. The lone Democrat on the ticket is Jean A. Little. Independent candidates are Dresden Mayor Jeffery T. Washburn and Rachel Denise Whites.
However, as of Monday, March 30, Doster, Hawks, Priestley and Washburn are the only candidates to file their petitions to be on the ballot. The others’ petitions are still outstanding.
Candidates interested in running for office have until April 2 to file their petitions with the Election Commission.
Those seeking the Tennessee State Senate 24th District seat are: Republican candidates – Casey L. Hood (from Obion County) and incumbent John D. Stevens of Huntingdon; Independent Yahweh Yahweh (from Gibson County); and Democratic candidate former Paris Mayor Samual Tharpe (Henry County).
Those running for Weakley County offices include Seth Coleman and Steven J. Totty, who are seeking the District 5 Commission seat (unexpired term).
In the District 7 Commission race (unexpired term), Republican candidate Mary Beth VanCleave will face against Whitney W. Stover, who has filed as an Independent.
In the contest for Assessor of Property, incumbent David A. Tuck remains unchallenged.
The sole person running for the District 1 Constable’s seat (unexpired term) is Republican candidate Steven Lynn Todd.
The five Weakley County School Board positions up for election (odd-numbered districts) are so far unchallenged, with the following incumbent members seeking re-election: District 1 – Gath W. Meeks; District 3 – Jeffrey Lynn Floyd; District 5 – Kimberly B. Longacre; District 7 – Steven D Sims; and District 9 – Joshua Thomas Moore. By law, all school board members must file as Independents.
Those Republican and Democratic candidates, receiving their party’s nomination in the August 6 Primary will face Independent candidates running for their respective positions in the November 3, 2020 State and Federal General Election. Independent candidates are not required to win a primary to be on the November 3 ballot.
Candidates have until noon Thursday, April 9, 2020 to withdraw their candidacy; otherwise, their names will remain on the August 6 primary ballot.
The voter registration deadline for the August 6 Primary Election is Tuesday, July 7, 2020. Early voting will take place from Friday, July 17 until Saturday, August 1, 2020. And the absentee ballot request deadline is Thursday, July 30, 2020.

Leave a Comment