Skip to content

Weakley County Gives Back: Schools Serve Meals to 0-18 Years

1,100 students served On Monday, March 23

Gleason School Principal Lee Lawrence and Student Resource Officer Jonathan McDowell help with the food distribution program for children ages 0 to 18. The food is provided free of charge to area children by the Weakley County Schools. Gleason school representatives distributed 780 meals on Friday, which provides food for three days – Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Pictured is Tim Sanders in the truck with two children.

WEAKLEY COUNTY — Meal distributions are underway as Weakley County Schools respond to COVID-19 and school closure needs.
Breakfasts and lunches are distributed via a “drive-through” system customized for each venue. The timing for distribution is 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. each day.
The food distribution is for any child through 18 years whether they are a student of Weakley County Schools or not; however, according to state regulations they must be present to receive the food. Families can choose any location to receive the meals.
Weekend meals are being provided.
Sites include: Gleason School, Greenfield School, Dresden Elementary/Middle, Sharon School, Martin Elementary, Westview, Martin Housing’s Tom and Ann Stuart Community Center, Pillowville Country Store, Sidonia Fire Department, Palmersville Fire Department, Mitchell Transport in Latham, Ruthville Baptist Church, and Jolley Springs Baptist Church in Como.
Weakley County Nutrition Staff are: Dresden K-8: Heather Buckley, Carla Champion, Lisa Harris, Deana Hogard, Jessica Hupp, Patricia Lowry, Chasitie Nielsen, Glenda Reagan, Kim Trandel, Joan Turnbow, Cortney Wade, Bonnie Wiseman, and Janna Scott (manager).
Dresden High School: Leslie Barker, Nancy Connell, Carol Elliott, Annette Gallimore, Francine Wingate and Keisha Stafford (manager).
Gleason: Linda Chappell, Rebecca Hugueley, Bobbie Lipscomb, Brenda Pope, Shawn Tidwell, Kim Wiseman, David Hugueley and Kelli Jo Anderson (manager).
Greenfield: Bailey Daniel, Darla Dixon, Natasha Ellison, Yvonne Gearin, Amanda Howell, Joan Sellers and Tracy Atnipp (manager).
Martin Primary: Lindsey Brockwell, Roann Clark, Cindy Fulton, Karen Hogan, Tina Lyell and Amy Clanton (manager).
Martin Elementary: Kathryn Brown, Cheri Flippin, Carolyn Hedge, Brenda Johnson, Yvonne Warren and Lindsey Joyner (manager).
Martin Middle: Alta Darnell, LaDonna LyBrook, Gloria Pewitte, Agnes Pruitt, Rebecca Thurman, Stephanie Taylor and Patty Davis (manager).
Sharon: Christa Clanton, Donna Morgan, Tamara Wiley and Lisa Williams (manager).
Westview: Judy Brewer, Vicki Carr, Debbie Carrington, Tammy Haney, Joyce Hoke, Judy Madison and Cathie Spain (manager).
Central Office staff: Brenda Scott, Tammy Craddock and Trista Snider (director).

Leave a Comment