Skip to content

Dresser Winn Named to Walter Payton Award Watch List

Dresser Winn

Courtesy of Alex Boggis

UT Martin Assistant Sports Information Director

University of Tennessee at Martin graduate quarterback and Dresden native Dresser Winn has been added to the watch list for the 2022 Stats Perform FCS Walter Payton Award, which is presented to the national offensive player of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision.

First awarded in 1987, the Payton Award has included past recipients such as Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, Jimmy Garoppolo, Cooper Kupp and Trey Lance, all who moved on to the NFL.

Winn has saved his best for last in his final season in a UT Martin uniform by completing 133-of-210 pass attempts for 1,761 yards and 11 touchdowns. He has eclipsed the 300-yard mark four times this season, including a career-high 463 yards in a win over Murray State earlier this season. With his success, he has joined the program’s career top-10 ranks in passing yards (4,633, sixth), total offense (4,829, eighth) and passing touchdowns (30, eighth) this season.

The Dresden native ranks amongst FCS national leaders in passing yards per game (293.2, sixth), total offense (299.7, seventh), passing yards (1761, 10th), completions per game (22.17, 17th), passing yards per attempt (8.38, 21st) and passing efficiency (149.1, 25th).

Also this season, Stats Perform will present the Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and FedEx Ground Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Leave a Comment