Skip to content

Four Local Students Awarded with Academic Honors

Weakley County Schools is celebrating the announcement that four students from three schools are recipients of the National Rural and Small Town Award (NRSTA) from the College Board National Recognition Program.

Dresden High Senior Mark Lee Maddox, Greenfield Senior Will Crews, Westview Senior Abbey Buchanan, and Westview Senior Katelin Rutledge earned the award through outstanding performance on the P-SAT, by scoring in the top 10% of Tennessee students who took the exam, and for maintaining a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. 

Eligibility for the award also requires that students reside in a rural or small town based on location data as determined by program guidelines. The distinction will allow colleges and universities another way to connect with the students, provide an advantage for scholarship consideration, and help them stand out during the admissions process. 

College Board National Recognition Programs award academic honors to underrepresented students who meet program rules and eligibility criteria.

To find out more about academic resources available, reach out to the school counselor at any Weakley County School.

Leave a Comment