Financial Management Committee Split Over Weakley County Attorney Nominee










Beau Pemberton and Allison Whitledge are the two attorneys that received support during  a recent meeting of the Financial Management Committee.


The Weakley County Financial Management Committee met Thursday, January 3 at the Board of Education/Board of Finance conference room in Dresden to elect officers.

The committee elected Commissioner Larry Taylor as chairman and Commissioner Dennis Doster as vice-chairman.

However, there was mixed opinion regarding who should be nominated to serve as county attorney. Some of the committee members favored retaining Allison Whitledge, who currently serves as the county attorney. Others wished to recommend Attorney Beau Pemberton for the position.

When the question was called on a motion to nominate Whitledge as county attorney, Whitledge received four votes to Pemberton’s two. Those voting in favor of nominating Whitledge were: County Mayor Jake Bynum, District 5 Commissioner Larry Taylor, Director of Schools Randy Frazier, and County Road Supervisor Charles Ross.

Financial Management Committee members voting to nominate Pemberton were: District 1 Commissioner Dennis Doster, and District 3 Commissioner James Roy Pope.
District 7 Commissioner David Hawks was not present.

Although Attorney Whitledge received the nomination of the Financial Management Committee, the Weakley County Commission will make the final decision concerning who will be appointed to serve as county attorney, when it meets on Monday, January 14, beginning at 5:30 p.m.


(See complete story in the January 9th issue of the Dresden Enterprise.)

Leave a Comment